What you need to know about cannabis in Virginia.
In Virginia, limited medical use is permitted. Patients who have a physician’s recommendation and pharmacy registration may purchase a 90-day supply of CBD or THC-A extracts from one of five pharmaceutical processors. Physicians may recommend the extracts for any condition or disease. The extracts must contain at least 15% CBD or THC-A and no more than 5% THC.
The decriminalization of marijuana goes into effect July 1, 2020. Senate Bill 2 and House Bill 972 creates a civil penalty of no more than $25 for possession of up to an ounce of marijuana, with no jail time. The new law states that any violation will be charged by a summons, which looks the same as the uniform summons for motor vehicle law violations, and that no court costs can be assessed for these violations. The law also provides that possession of low amounts of marijuana won't be recorded in a person's criminal history and that records of any charges or judgments won't be reported to the state's Central Criminal Records Exchange. But if a violation happens while a person is driving, it will be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles and included on the individual's driving record. Under the new law, records relating to arrests, charges, and convictions for marijuana possession will be sealed "except in certain circumstances." Employers and educational institutions will be prohibited from asking individuals to disclose such arrests, charges or convictions. Virginia is now the 27th state to decriminalize simple cannabis possession, according to the cannabis legalization organization, Marijuana Policy Project. The bill also creates a work group to study the impact of legalization of marijuana and report its findings to the General Assembly and Governor Ralph Northam by November 2021.